Visionary architect awarded Rössler prize

Rössler Preisträger hält Urkunde in den Händen

Rössler prize winner Philippe Block with Max Rössler (left) and ETH president Lino Guzzella

06.07.2018 – At yesterday’s “Thanks Giving” event of the ETH Zurich Foundation, civil engineer and architect Philippe Block received the 200,000 Swiss franc Rössler Prize 2018. He is one of ten brilliant researchers who have received the award since 2009 and whose research promises great potential for the future.

Philippe Block is looking for new structural forms and constructional systems that would allow materials to be used more efficiently and takes inspiration from historical building principles. Some of Block’s favourite examples include the vaults in Gothic cathedrals or Catalan vaults made from thin bricks.

Together with his research group, Philippe Block uses computational methods to re-invent these building techniques of the past. This results in diverse shapes and systems, which often require no mortar or reinforcement and can bear heavy loads with little material.

Philippe Block studied architecture and civil engineering at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel. In 2009, Block completed a PhD at MIT in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and was then appointed Assistant Professor at ETH Zurich. In 2014, he became Associate Professor of Architecture and Structure at the Institute of Technology in Architecture (ITA) and was awarded his full professorship in 2017.

Philippe Block has received many prizes and awards for his work, most recently in January 2018 the Berlin Art Prize for Architecture. In 2012, he won the Edoardo Benvenuto Prize and was awarded both the Tsuboi Award and the Hangai Prize from the International Association of Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS) in 2010 and 2007 respectively.

Block’s most famous works include the Armadillo vault for the Venice Architecture Biennale 2016, and the ultra-lightweight, unreinforced, rib-stiffened floor elements and sinuous concrete roof for the experimental HiLo building on the NEST platform.

About the Rössler prize
The Rössler Prize has been awarded annually since 2009 to young professors from ETH Zurich. The prize is a mark of honor for the mostpromising young scientists and should be a stimulus for the further development of their careers. The Rössler prize is financed by ETH Zurich Foundation to which ETH-Alumnus Dr. Max Rössler has made a generous donation. With 200,000 Swiss francs, the prize is the highest endowed award for research at ETH Zurich and is presented at the “Thanks Giving” event of ETH Zurich Foundation.

Further information about the Rössler prize is available here.

Back

Architektur-Visionär erhält Rössler-Preis

Rössler Preisträger hält Urkunde in den Händen

Rössler Preisträger Philippe Block mit Preisstifter Max Rössler (links) und ETH-Präsident Lino Guzzella

06.07.2018 – Am gestrigen „Thanks Giving“-Anlass der ETH Zürich Foundation durfte der Bauingenieur und Architekt Philippe Block den mit CHF 200’000 dotierten Rössler-Preis 2018 feierlich entgegennehmen. Er reiht sich damit in die Riege von brillanten Nachwuchsforschenden ein, die seit 2009 ausgezeichnet wurden und deren Forschung grosses Potential für die Zukunft verspricht.

Philippe Block sucht mit seiner Forschung nach neuen Formen und Tragestrukturen, mit denen sich Materialien effizienter nutzen lassen und lässt sich dabei von historischen, in Vergessenheit geratenen, Bauprinzipen inspirieren. Als Vorbild dienen ihm beispielsweise die Decken von gotischen Kathedralen oder die sogenannten katalanischen Gewölbe.

Mit seiner Forschungsgruppe entwickelt Philippe Block diese Bauweisen mit digitalen Methoden weiter und schafft damit unterschiedlichste Formen und Bauten, die trotz ihrer sparsamen Bauweise durch wenig Material grosse Lasten tragen können.

Philippe Block studierte an der Freien Universität Brüssel Architektur und Bauingenieurswesen. Im Jahr 2009 doktorierte er am MIT in Cambridge und wurde anschliessend als Assistenzprofessor an die ETH Zürich berufen. 2014 wurde er zum ausserordentlichen Professor für Architektur und Tragwerk am Institut für Technologie in der Architektur (ITA) befördert und 2017 zum ordentlichen Professor ernannt.

Philippe Block erhielt für seine Arbeit bereits mehrfach Auszeichnungen, zuletzt im Januar 2018 mit dem Berliner Kunstpreis in der Sparte Baukunst. Im Jahr 2012 gewann er den Edoardo Benvenuto Preis, 2010 den Tsuboi Award der “International Association of Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS)” und 2007 den Hangai Preis.

Zu den bekanntesten Arbeiten Philippe Block’s gehören das Armadillo-Gewölbe für die Architekturbiennale Venedig 2016 sowie die unverstärkten, gerippten Bodenelemente und das geschwungene Betondach für das experimentelle HiLo-Gebäude auf der Nest-Plattform.

Über den Rössler-Preis
Der Rössler-Preis wird seit 2009 jährlich an besonders vielverspreche junge Professorinnen und Professoren in der Expansionsphase ihrer Laufbahn vergeben. Der Förderpreis wird durch die ETH Zürich Foundation finanziert, an welche ETH-Alumnus Dr. Max Rössler eine grosszügige Schenkung ausgerichtet hat. Der Preis ist mit 200‘000 Schweizer Franken die höchstdotierte Auszeichnung für Forschung an der ETH Zürich und wird jeweils am „Thanks Giving“-Anlass der ETH Zürich Foundation verliehen.

Weitere Informationen zum Rössler Preis finden Sie hier.

Zurück