Two new honorary councillors appointed at
ETH Day 2015

24. 11.2015 – On 21. November 2015, ETH Zurich celebrated its 160th anniversary together with guests from science, politics and economy. Two honorary councillors were awarded for their exceptional personal commitment to the promotion of teaching and research, as well as the transfer of research and technology at ETH Zurich.

The two new appointed honorary councillors Jürgen Dormann and Hansjörg Wyss were also strong supporters of the ETH Zürich Foundation in the last few years.
We congratulate them for their outstanding achievements!

ETH-Tag 2015

ETH President Lino Guzzella, the two new honorary councillors Jürgen Dormann and Hansjörg Wyss and Rector Sarah Springman (f.l.t.r.). (Photo © ETH Zurich/Oliver Bartenschlager)

Jürgen Dormann
Jürgen Dormann was CEO at ABB Switzerland and a member of the board of directors at well-known companies such as ABB, Adecco, Metall Zug and Sulzer. Since 2008 he has been heading the ETH Zurich Foundation as honorary President of the Board of Trustees; he has significantly advanced the Foundation’s financial development and further established the tradition of university funding with private financing.

Dr. h.c. Hansjörg Wyss
An extraordinary donation from Hansjörg Wyss, a successful entrepreneur with the company Synthes and ETH alumnus, made the foundation of the Wyss Translational Center possible. The new research centre at the University of Zurich and ETH is at the interface of medicine, science and engineering.

The full press release is available here: ETH Press Release

The texts of all the speeches, profiles of this year’s honorary doctors and honorary councillors, and a list of all the prize winners can be found at:

We are happy to contact you.

Do you have questions about donations and legacy gifts to ETH or other topics around ETH Foundation? We look forward to getting in touch with you.