News

ETH Foundation awarded the Fundraising Prize

Das ETH-Gebäude vor dem Zürichsee links, rechts ein Bild eines Mannes im Labor

11.05.2021 – The ETH Foundation has received the University Fundraising Prize 2021 from the German Association of University Professors and Lecturers (Deutscher Hochschulverband DHV) for its success in corporate fundraising. The prize has been awarded to universities demonstrating best practice examples of fundraising for the past six years. This year marks the second time it was open to the DACH countries.

ETH Zurich has had close ties to the economy since it was founded. The development and expansion of corporate cooperation is a key focus at the university, be it with regard to promoting talented students and young entrepreneurs, or accelerating research in various areas. “This award represents prestigious recognition from the German Association of University Professors and Lecturers and underlines the relevance of university fundraising. Support from donors and partners is what enables ETH Zurich to remain competitive on the global stage and deliver outstanding achievements for science and society,” explains Detlef Günther, Vice President for Research at ETH Zurich and member of the Board of Trustees of the ETH Foundation Germany. Partnerships with companies such as Siemens, ABB, Clariant and AMAG enable the university to focus on areas including sustainable construction, robotics, catalysis and mobility, and pave the way for key research developments to be integrated into society more quickly.

In this sense, the ETH Foundation actively builds bridges between the university and its partners – it initiates and nurtures partnerships and enables them to work in the interests of the partners and society. This is a point which is highlighted in DHV’s award rationale: “The companies benefit from especially in-depth, exclusive insights into top-level research thanks to very close, personal ties with scientists, researchers and young talented individuals. The ETH Foundation fosters its relationships with donors in a structured way, ensuring that it provides the right format for each corporate supporter as part of a diverse mix of fundraising sources.”

The DACH University Fundraising Prize
Recipients of the DACH University Fundraising Prize receive EUR 5,000. The prize money, which is donated by the consultancy firm rheform, is intended to be used for university fundraising or an ongoing fundraising project. The virtual award ceremony took place 10 May 2021 as part of the 12th DHV HRK Fundraising Congress.

DHV press release (in German)

Annual Report 2020

We are happy to contact you.

Do you have questions about donations and legacy gifts to ETH or other topics around ETH Foundation? We look forward to getting in touch with you.

contact
x

News

ETH Foundation mit Fundraisingpreis ausgezeichnet

Das ETH-Gebäude vor dem Zürichsee links, rechts ein Bild eines Mannes im Labor

11.05.2021 – Die ETH Foundation erhält den Hochschul-Fundraisingpreis 2021 des Deutschen Hochschulverbands (DHV) für ihr erfolgreiches Unternehmensfundraising. Die Auszeichnung wird seit sechs Jahren für Best-Practice-Beispiele von Fundraising an Hochschulen vergeben und wurde 2021 zum zweiten Mal für die DACH-Staaten ausgeschrieben.

Seit ihrer Gründung pflegt die Hochschule enge Verbindungen mit der Wirtschaft. Der Auf- und Ausbau von Unternehmenskooperationen ist ein wichtiger Fokus der ETH Zürich, sei dies hinsichtlich der Talentförderung von Studierenden und Jungunternehmern oder für die Beschleunigung der Forschung. «Die Auszeichnung des Deutschen Hochschulverbands ist eine wertvolle Anerkennung und unterstreicht die Relevanz des Hochschulfundraisings. Die Unterstützung von Donatorinnen, Donatoren und Partnern trägt dazu bei, dass die ETH Zürich weltweit kompetitiv bleiben und Spitzenleistungen für Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft erbringen kann», erklärt Detlef Günther, Vizepräsident für Forschung der ETH Zürich und Stiftungsratsmitglied der ETH Foundation Deutschland. Kooperationen mit Unternehmen wie Siemens, ABB, Clariant oder AMAG ermöglichen Schwerpunkte in den Bereichen Nachhaltiges Bauen, Robotik, Katalyse oder Mobilität und helfen, wichtige Entwicklungen aus der Forschung schneller in die Gesellschaft zu tragen.

Die ETH Foundation ist dabei eine aktive Brückenbauerin zwischen Hochschule und Partnern – sie initiiert und pflegt Beziehungen und bringt sie im Sinne der Partner und der Gesellschaft zum Wirken. Dies wird auch in der Preisbegründung des DHVs hervorgehoben: «Die Unternehmen profitieren von einem besonders tiefen und exklusiven Einblick in exzellente Forschung durch einen sehr persönlichen Kontakt zu Wissenschaftlerinnen, Wissenschaftler und jungen Talenten. Die ETH Foundation geht bei ihrer Spenderpflege so strukturiert vor, dass sie in einem vielfältigen Fundraisingmix für jeden Unternehmensförderer das geeignete Format bietet.»

Der DACH-Hochschul-Fundraisingpreis
Der DACH-Hochschul-Fundraisingpreis ist mit 5000 Euro dotiert. Das Preisgeld, das vom Unternehmen «rheform» gestiftet wird, soll zweckgebunden für das Hochschul-Fundraising oder ein laufendes Fundraising-Projekt verwendet werden. Die virtuelle Preisübergabe fand am 10 Mai 2021 im Rahmen des 12. DHV-HRK-Fundraisingkongress statt.

Pressemitteilung Deutscher Hochschulverband

Jahresbericht 2020 der ETH Foundation

Wir kontaktieren Sie gerne.

Haben Sie Fragen zu Schenkungen und Legaten oder zu weiteren Themen rund um die ETH Foundation?
Wir freuen uns, Kontakt mit Ihnen aufzunehmen.

Kontakt
x