Technology for human health

Cryo-electron microscopy to be expanded, and new professorship created, thanks to donations

Group Picture

23.08.2018 – ETH Zurich is delighted to announce that, thanks to a generous donation pledged by the family of August von Finck Jr, it is now in a position to acquire a new cryo‑electron microscopy (cryo-EM) system.

At the same time, three foundations have agreed to provide sustained support for scientific research in this field: the NOMIS Foundation and the Monique Dornonville de la Cour Foundation are making available initial funding, covering a 10-year period, for a professorship in the Department of Biology. This project is also being supported by the Baugarten Foundation.

The donations from these four partners, totalling CHF 13 million, will enable ETH Zurich to purchase a state-of-the-art cryo-EM system, to upgrade an existing system, and to establish a new professorship.

ETH Zurich President Lino Guzzella said: “I would like to express my profound gratitude to the donors for their extremely generous support, which will allow ETH Zurich to investigate the molecular world with unprecedented precision. This opens up completely new possibilities for the life sciences.”

But what exactly does cryo-EM involve? A key role in the continuous series of biochemical reactions and processes occurring in living cells is played by proteins, which serve a wide variety of functions. If protein structures are disrupted, intracellular processes no longer run smoothly, possibly triggering the development of diseases.

While researchers have long been aware of the crucial significance of these molecules, the determination of three-dimensional protein structures has proved challenging: these cellular components are too small to be detected by traditional microscopy, and other imaging techniques are also of limited value. But with the advent of cryo-electron microscopy, structures of protein molecules can now be determined at near‑atomic resolution. The three scientists who developed this revolutionary method were awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2017. In its citation, the Nobel Prize Committee wrote: “This method has moved biochemistry into a new era.”

The same can now also be said of ETH Zurich. Thanks to the four donors’ contributions, ETH Zurich will be at the cutting edge of research in this area. For cryo-EM, in combination with other techniques, opens up unprecedented opportunities to investigate the structural foundations of biochemical processes in healthy and diseased cells. This method will make it possible, for example, to identify pathogenetic mechanisms or to observe individual metabolic processes which could serve as a basis for new therapeutic approaches in personalised medicine.

 

We are happy to contact you.

Do you have questions about donations and legacy gifts to ETH or other topics around ETH Foundation? We look forward to getting in touch with you.

contact
x

Gönner ermöglichen Ausbau der Kryo-Elektronenmikroskopie und neue Professur

Gruppenfoto

Familie von Finck mit Mitgliedern der ETH-Schulleitung und Prof. Hans Hengartner (ETH/UHZ). (Bild: Eline Keller-Sørensen)

23.08.2018 – Mit grosser Freude und Dankbarkeit gibt die ETH Zürich bekannt, dass sich die Familie August von Finck bereit erklärt hat, der ETH mit einer grosszügigen Donation die Beschaffung eines neuen Kryo-Elektronenmikroskopie-Geräts (Kryo-EM) zu ermöglichen.

Gleichzeitig haben sich drei Stiftungen zu einer nachhaltigen Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschungsarbeit in diesem Bereich bereit erklärt: Die NOMIS Foundation ermöglicht für zehn Jahre gemeinsam mit der Monique Dornonville de la Cour Stiftung die Anschubfinanzierung einer Professur im Departement Biologie. Zudem beteiligt sich die Baugarten Stiftung am Projekt.

Gemeinsam ermöglichen die vier Donatäre  der ETH Zürich mit insgesamt 13 Mio. Franken die Anschaffung eines hochmodernen Kryo-EM-Geräts, die Aufrüstung des bestehenden Geräts sowie eine neue Professur.

„Den vier Spendern möchte ich für Ihre enorm grosszügige Unterstützung herzlich danken. Ihre Förderung ermöglicht der ETH Zürich, die Welt der Moleküle in bisher unerreichter Präzision zu erforschen“, freut sich Lino Guzzella, Präsident der ETH Zürich. „Dies eröffnet noch nie dagewesene Möglichkeiten in den Life Sciences.“

Doch worum geht es bei der Kryo-EM überhaupt? In jeder lebenden Zelle laufen ununterbrochen biochemische Reaktionen und Prozesse ab. Eine wichtige Rolle kommt dabei den Proteinen zu, die eine Vielzahl von unterschiedlichen Aufgaben erfüllen. Ist die Struktur dieser Proteine gestört, laufen die Prozesse innerhalb der Zelle nicht mehr ordnungsgemäss ab, was unter Umständen zu Krankheiten führen kann.

Die immense Bedeutung der Proteine ist der Forschung schon seit einiger Zeit bekannt. Lücken bestanden jedoch in der Abbildung ihrer dreidimensionalen Struktur: Für ein herkömmliches Mikroskop sind diese Zellbausteine zu klein, und auch andere Verfahren eigneten sich nur sehr eingeschränkt. Den grossen Durchbruch brachte die Kryo-Elektronenmikroskopie, mit der sich Eiweissmoleküle heute fast atomgenau abbilden lassen. Die drei Forscher, die diese revolutionäre Methode entwickelten, wurden 2017 mit dem Chemie-Nobelpreis ausgezeichnet. Durch die Methode der Kryo-EM, schrieb das Nobelpreis-Komitee 2017 anlässlich der Preisverleihung, sei in der Biochemie eine neue Ära angebrochen.

Dies gilt auch für die ETH Zürich. Dank der Investition der vier Förderpartner wird die ETH Zürich auf diesem Gebiet an vorderster Front mit dabei sein. Denn die Kryo-EM eröffnet noch nie dagewesene Möglichkeiten, in Kombination mit anderen Forschungsmethoden die strukturellen Grundlagen biochemischer Prozesse in gesunden und kranken Zellen zu erforschen. Damit lassen sich beispielsweise Mechanismen erkennen, die zu Krankheiten führen, oder individuelle Stoffwechselvorgänge beobachten, die im Rahmen der personalisierten Medizin als Ansatzpunkt für neue Therapien dienen können.

 

Zurück