News

Annual Report 2020: making great things possible together

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler bei der Arbeit, ETH Zürich innen

06.04.2021 – Accelerating pioneering research, facilitating the education of talented students and advancing strategic projects – in 2020, more than 2,300 individuals, foundations and companies made donations for research and teaching at ETH Zurich: Annual Report 2020

In 2020, donors and partners once again demonstrated their commitment to ETH Zurich. The recently published annual report details donations of CHF 145 million to the ETH Foundation (previous year around CHF 120 million). This invaluable support comes from more than 2,300 private individuals who supported ETH either during their lifetime or with a legacy gift. Together they facilitated over 140 projects in teaching and research, scholarships, spin-offs and infrastructure.

“Every single donation provides crucial momentum and has a decisive effect on research and education; it is often the crucial component in the bigger picture, from supporting talented students to furthering ground-breaking technologies such as quantum research or socially relevant topics, like the mobility of the future and artificial intelligence,” explains Donald Tillman, Managing Director of the ETH Foundation.

From supporting talent to funding research
The support of donors and partners impacts many areas of ETH. Excellence Scholarships support talented young students, while needs-based scholarships enable gifted students in difficult financial circumstances to study at ETH. And Pioneer Fellowships help young entrepreneurs to develop their research into marketable products and to establish spin-offs. The wide-ranging support not only benefits individuals; the students and researchers also contribute their knowledge and skills to the fields of economics, science and politics, thereby boosting innovation both in Switzerland and internationally.

Strategic priorities thanks to philanthropy
This support has also facilitated the launch of major strategic developments in the past year, for example in the field of quantum research. A generous donation from Martin Haefner, ETH alumnus and Honorary Councillor, brought the vision of a highly specialised physics building on the Hönggerberg campus the crucial step closer. And the various commitments of companies and foundations such as Siemens, Basler & Hofmann, the Hilti Group, the Hilti Family Foundation, AMAG, the Fondation Botnar and the Wellcome Trust have facilitated research in priority areas such as sustainable construction, robotics, mobility and health.

Further insights into the valuable support of donors and partners at ETH Zurich in 2020: digital annual report of the ETH Foundation

We are happy to contact you.

Do you have questions about donations and legacy gifts to ETH or other topics around ETH Foundation? We look forward to getting in touch with you.

contact
x

News

Jahresbericht 2020: Gemeinsam Grosses ermöglichen

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler bei der Arbeit, ETH Zürich innen

06.04.2021 – Zukunftsweisende Forschung beschleunigen, Bildung für Talente ermöglichen und strategische Projekte vorantreiben: 2020 haben über 2300 Privatpersonen, Stiftungen und Unternehmen für Forschung und Lehre an der ETH Zürich gespendet: Jahresbericht 2020

Gönnerinnen, Gönner und Partner engagierten sich 2020 erneut richtungsweisend für die ETH Zürich: Im soeben publizierten Jahresbericht weist die ETH Foundation Zuwendungen von 145 Millionen Schweizer Franken aus (Vorjahr rund 120 Millionen Franken). Diese grosse Unterstützung stammt von über 2300 Privatpersonen, die die ETH zu Lebzeiten förderten oder in ihrem Nachlass berücksichtigt haben. Gemeinsam ermöglichten sie über 140 Projekte in Lehre und Forschung, Stipendien, Spin-offs oder Infrastruktur.

«Jede einzelne Donation bringt entscheidende Impulse und Wirkung in die Forschung und Ausbildung und ist oft der entscheidende Baustein zum grossen Ganzen: von der Förderung von Talenten bis zur Erforschung bahnbrechender Technologien wie der Quantenforschung oder gesellschaftlich relevanter Themen wie der Mobilität der Zukunft und künstlicher Intelligenz», erklärt Donald Tillman, Geschäftsführer der ETH Foundation.

Von der Talent- zur Forschungsförderung
Die Unterstützung von Gönnerinnen, Gönnern und Partnern wird in vielen Bereichen der ETH sichtbar. Exzellenz-Stipendien helfen jungen Talenten, dank Sozialstipendien können Begabte aus schwierigen finanziellen Verhältnissen an der ETH studieren. Und mit Pioneer Fellowships erhalten Jungunternehmerinnen und -unternehmer die Möglichkeit, ihre Forschung zur Marktreife weiterzuentwickeln und Spin-offs zu gründen. Die vielseitige Förderung kommt nicht nur den individuellen Personen zugute; die Studierenden und Forschenden bringen ihr Wissen und Können in Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik ein und kurbeln so Innovation an, in der Schweiz und international.

Strategische Schwerpunkte dank Philanthropie
Auch grosse strategische Weiterentwicklungen konnten im vergangenen Jahr angestossen werden, etwa im Bereich der Quantenforschung: Eine grosszügige Donation von Martin Haefner, ETH-Alumnus und -Ehrenrat, bringt die Realisierung eines hochspezialisierten Physikgebäudes auf dem Campus Hönggerberg den entscheidenden Schritt weiter. Und das vielfältige Engagement von Unternehmen und Stiftungen wie Siemens, Basler & Hofmann, der Hilti Gruppe, der Hilti Family Foundation, AMAG, der Fondation Botnar oder des Wellcome Trust ermöglicht wichtige Forschungsschwerpunkte in den Bereichen Nachhaltiges Bauen, Robotik, Mobilität oder Gesundheit an der ETH Zürich.

Weitere Einblicke in die 2020 erfolgten Förderungen der ETH Zürich: Digitaler Jahresbericht der ETH Foundation

Wir kontaktieren Sie gerne.

Haben Sie Fragen zu Schenkungen und Legaten oder zu weiteren Themen rund um die ETH Foundation?
Wir freuen uns, Kontakt mit Ihnen aufzunehmen.

Kontakt
x