Outstanding talents, bright ideas

Meet the Talent 2019

11.04.2019 – At this year’s Meet the Talent event, more than 150 donors conversed with students supported through the Excellence Scholarship and Opportunity Programme (ESOP). ETH Rector Sarah M. Springman also engaged in lively dialogue – speaking with two former ESOP scholars on stage and answering questions from the audience during her address.

“Our ESOP family is growing year by year, and so too is my enthusiasm for the programme,” said Springman, patron of ESOP, in her opening statement. Scholarships are awarded annually to Master’s students of all disciplines who are outstanding in their year. This gives young talents the opportunity to focus their energy on studying and push ahead with research.

The Rector also pointed out that in recent years, however, the number of scholarships has not kept pace with the growth in student numbers. In order to continue promoting the top two to three percent, she hopes to boost the number of scholarships from around 50 to 60 a year.

Since its launch 12 years ago, some 500 gifted young people have benefited from the programme. Most have gained a sure foothold in working life after graduation, some pursuing a high-level academic career, others founding their own business. Approximately three quarters of foreign scholarship holders stay in Switzerland after graduating and contribute to the prosperity of the country.

“I’m delighted that many of these former scholars have now become patrons themselves,” Springman emphasised. She closed her address by thanking all the individual donors, companies and foundations for the generous support which is so essential to ESOP, and for their continuing commitment to ETH Zurich.

Get to know Excellence Scholars Michelle Rüegg and Joel Wanner.

 

Impressions of “Meet the Talent”

 

We are happy to contact you.

Do you have questions about donations and legacy gifts to ETH or other topics around ETH Foundation? We look forward to getting in touch with you.

contact
x

Grosse Talente, grosse Ideen

Meet the Talent 2019

11.04.2019 – Am diesjährigen «Meet the Talent»-Anlass tauschten sich über 150 Donatorinnen und Donatoren des «Excellence Scholarship & Opportunity Programme» (ESOP) mit den geförderten Studierenden aus. Auch der Auftritt der ETH-Rektorin stand im Zeichen des Dialogs: Sie unterhielt sich auf der Bühne mit zwei ehemaligen ESOP-Scholars und beantwortete Publikumsfragen.

«Unsere ESOP-Familie wächst von Jahr zu Jahr – und im gleichen Masse wächst meine Begeisterung für das Programm», eröffnete die ETH-Rektorin und Schirmherrin des Programms, Sarah M. Springman, ihre kurze Ansprache. Jedes Jahr werden Stipendien an Masterstudierende aller Studienrichtungen vergeben, die zu den Besten ihres Jahrgangs gehören. Die jungen Talente können sich so ganz aufs Studium konzentrieren und ihre Forschung vorantreiben.

Die Rektorin zeigte aber auch auf, dass die Entwicklung der Stipendienzahl nicht mit dem Wachstum der Studierendenzahlen der letzten Jahre mithalten konnte. Um weiterhin die besten zwei bis drei Prozent unterstützen zu können, möchte sie die Anzahl jährlicher Stipendien von rund 50 auf 60 erhöhen.

Seit Beginn des Programms vor 12 Jahren durften annähernd 500 junge Talente vom Programm profitieren. Die meisten von ihnen haben nach dem Studium erfolgreich im Arbeitsleben Fuss gefasst, einige davon verfolgen eine steile akademische Karriere oder gründeten eigene Unternehmen. Auch von den ausländischen Stipendiaten bleiben rund drei Viertel nach ihrem Abschluss hier und tragen zum Wohlergehen der Schweiz bei.

«Dass viele der ehemaligen Stipendiaten heute selber zu Gönnern geworden sind, freut mich ganz besonders», unterstrich Springman. Sie schloss mit einem grossen Dank an alle Privatpersonen, Unternehmen und Stiftungen, die mit ihren Zuwendungen das ESOP-Programm ermöglichen und der ETH Zürich ihr Vertrauen schenken.

Lernen Sie die beiden Excellence Scholars Michelle Rüegg und Joel Wanner im Video-Porträt kennen.

Impressionen vom «Meet the Talent»

Wir kontaktieren Sie gerne.

Haben Sie Fragen zu Schenkungen und Legaten oder zu weiteren Themen rund um die ETH Foundation?
Wir freuen uns, Kontakt mit Ihnen aufzunehmen.

Kontakt
x