Outstanding talents, bright ideas

Meet the Talent@home

Four Excellence Scholars talk about how they’re coping with their everyday studies at home and what they’re currently working on – not in face-to-face discussions with donors, as they previously did at the annual Meet the Talent event, but digitally by video.

In this four-part series, the students extend a virtual invitation to their homes, offering us an insight into their current research projects and what the generous support means to them.

 

Vincent Fortuin

Early detection of sepsis

Will a patient develop sepsis in an intensive care unit or not? This is something that doctors can now ascertain at an early stage with the help of algorithms. Vincent Fortuin is working to ensure that these predictions are not only reliable but also comprehensible:

 

Hanna Ragnarsdottir

Deep Learning Techniques

Hanna Ragnarsdottir is passionately interested not only in machine learning and artificial intelligence, but also in how we can use these technologies to benefit our health and society. In particular, her project aims to bring about a lasting improvement in cancer research, which relies on data relating to cells:

 

Janine Wetter

Climate research in the Arctic

Climate change is having a particularly drastic effect on the polar regions, where melting glaciers and warmer water have an impact on the entire ecosystem. Janine Wetter researches where exactly the connections lie and how climate change will affect these regions in the future:

 

Dominic Egger

Titanium-based catalysts

Titanium is one of the most abundant metals in the Earth’s crust. The sustainable reserves of the element are one of the reasons why, in the project in which Dominic Egger is involved, researchers are working on the development and application of titanium catalysts for the synthesis of organic molecules (which can be used, for example, in the production of pharmaceuticals).

 

 

We are happy to contact you.

Do you have questions about donations and legacy gifts to ETH or other topics around ETH Foundation? We look forward to getting in touch with you.

contact
x

Grosse Talente, grosse Ideen

Meet the Talent@home

Wie sie ihren Studienalltag zu Hause meistern und woran sie arbeiten zeigen vier Exzellenz-Studierende; nicht wie bisher im persönlichen Gespräch mit Gönnerinnen und Gönnern am jährlichen «Meet the Talent»-Anlass, sondern digital per Video.

In der vierteiligen Serie laden die Studierenden virtuell zu sich nach Hause ein und geben Einblick in ihre aktuellen Forschungsprojekte und was die grosszügige Unterstützung für sie bedeutet.

 

Vincent Fortuin

Früherkennung von Sepsis

Wird ein Patient auf der Intensivstation eine Sepsis entwickeln oder nicht? Mit Hilfe von Algorithmen können Ärzte dies heute bereits frühzeitig erkennen. Damit diese Vorhersagen verlässlich und auch nachvollziehbar sind, daran arbeitet Vincent Fortuin:

 

Hanna Ragnarsdottir

Deep Learning Techniques

Die Isländerin Hanna Ragnarsdottir interessiert sich nicht nur leidenschaftlich für maschinelles Lernen und künstliche Intelligenz, sondern auch, wie wir diese Technologien für unsere Gesundheit und unser Leben nutzen können. Ihr Projekt soll besonders die Krebsforschung, die von zellulären Daten abhängt, nachhaltig verbessern:

 

Janine Wetter

Klimaforschung in der Arktis

Besonders betroffen vom Klimawandel sind die Polarregionen: Die schmelzenden Gletscher und das wärmere Wasser wirken sich auf das gesamte Ökosystem aus. Wo genau die Zusammenhänge liegen und wie sich der Klimawandel in Zukunft auf diese Regionen auswirken wird, daran forscht Janine Wetter:

 

Dominic Egger

Katalysatoren auf Titanbasis

Titan ist eines der am häufigsten in der Erdkruste vorkommenden Metalle. Die nachhaltigen Reserven sind einer der Gründe, weshalb im Forschungsprojekt, in dem Dominic Egger mitarbeitet, an der Entwicklung und Anwendung von Titan-Katalysatoren für die Synthese von organischen Molekülen (unter anderem relevant für pharmazeutische Produkte) gearbeitet wird.

 

 

Wir kontaktieren Sie gerne.

Haben Sie Fragen zu Schenkungen und Legaten oder zu weiteren Themen rund um die ETH Foundation?
Wir freuen uns, Kontakt mit Ihnen aufzunehmen.

Kontakt
x