Become part of…Einzelnes Puzzleteil

… innovation, breakthrough projects and solutions to the greatest challenges of our time. Your support enables ETH Zurich to achieve remarkable things. Donations both large and small come together like the pieces of a jigsaw puzzle – and have a major impact.

Take part and add your piece of the puzzle – TogETHer we are shaping the future!

 

Give now

Excellence Scholarships

For outstanding emerging talent. For business, science and society.

read more

Pioneer Fellowships

For the development of ground-breaking ideas – for tomorrows entrepreneurs.

read more

ETH scholarships

For the financial support of students who would otherwise not be able to afford to study.

read more

Rehab Initiative

For a world in which disability makes no difference.

read more

Zurich Heart

For the development of a fully functional artificial heart.

read more

The stories to the visuals  Zwei Puzzlestücke der ETH Kuppel

Check out the slider to learn more about the stories behind the initiatives and projects of the campaign visuals.


Questions and answers


 

Why is the ETH Foundation launching this campaign?

ETH Zurich enjoys widespread renown, but few people are aware that they can also support ETH philanthropically. We are launching this campaign to draw attention to the ways in which people can support us, because additional resources are increasingly vital to delivering top-class research and teaching and to achieving even more than is possible with our basic financing alone. The image of a jigsaw puzzle symbolises the idea that, by making a donation, you become part of innovations that benefit the whole of society. Whether it’s a small donation or a bequest, every contribution is valuable and goes towards achieving great things.

Who is the campaign aimed at?

We want to appeal to people who feel a connection with ETH, who care about promoting young talent or a specific research topic, or who simply share our conviction that education and research are the key to solving many of the challenges of our time. You are all invited to contribute your own pieces of the puzzle and play your part in shaping the future together with ETH.

How exactly can I donate, and what to?

Firstly, we’re seeking funds for talent and scholarship programmes in order to provide targeted support to especially talented and financially disadvantaged students as well as up-and-coming young entrepreneurs. Secondly, we also want to provide additional funding to reinforce and expand strategically important areas of research – from health to energy and artificial intelligence.

Donations to our “Poly Fund” that are unrestricted in their purpose are also very important. With these, you give the ETH Executive Board the greatest possible flexibility when it comes to deploying funds where they’re most urgently required.

You can find an overview of current funding projects at https://www.ethz-foundation.ch/en/get-involved/. We would be happy to advise you on an individual basis if you have specific wishes with regard to funding.

Is my donation tax exempt?

Yes, donations to the ETH Zurich Foundation are tax exempt within the scope of the statutory regulations. We will be delighted to provide you with a donation receipt. Donations from Germany and the US are also tax exempt if they are made via the corresponding foundation. More information: https://www.ethz-foundation.ch/en/bank-details/

How much of my donation is actually invested in the projects?

One hundred percent of the donated amount goes towards the chosen causes. The members of the Board of Trustees of the ETH Foundation kindly offer their services on a voluntary basis, and the costs of running the office are financed by capital gains from the assets under management.

Why is ETH collecting donations at all – is it not funded by the federal government?

Donations give ETH the scope to act quickly in strategically important areas and to implement comprehensive projects that would not be possible with our basic financing alone. Donations play a significant role in funding talent-promotion programmes – such as the Excellence Scholarship and Pioneer Fellowship programmes – as well as making it easier for ETH to attract and support the best talent. All of this is vital to ensuring that ETH can maintain its position as one of the world’s leading universities.

What do I personally get out of supporting ETH?

Donations are always a gift, which means nothing is granted directly in return. In addition to thanks and appreciation, however, you can take pleasure in knowing that your donation has had a meaningful impact on the future. Moreover, your name will appear in the annual report and on our website. Regular donors are also invited to occasional events where they can see the impact of their commitment for themselves.

Is there also a "real" puzzle?

Yes, there is a 1000-piece jigsaw puzzle with the motif of the ETH main building that you can buy in the ETH Store or online. A great cause twice over, because CHF 5 of the sales price goes towards promoting teaching and research at ETH Zurich.

We are happy to contact you.

Do you have questions about donations and legacy gifts to ETH or other topics around ETH Foundation? We look forward to getting in touch with you.

contact
x

Werden Sie Teil…Einzelnes Puzzleteil

… von Innovationen, zukunftsweisenden Projekten und Lösungen für die grossen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Ihre Unterstützung erlaubt es der ETH Zürich, besondere Talente zu fördern und Aussergewöhnliches zu bewirken. Es sind viele kleinere und grössere Beträge, die sich wie Puzzleteile zusammenfügen – und in der Summe Grosses ermöglichen.

Machen Sie mit und steuern Sie Ihr Puzzleteil bei – TogETHer gestalten wir Zukunft!

 

Jetzt unterstützen

Exzellenz-Stipendien

Für exzellenten Nachwuchs. Für Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft.

mehr erfahren

Pioneer Fellowships

Für die Weiterentwicklung bahnbrechender Ideen. Für die Jungunternehmer von morgen.

mehr erfahren

ETH-Sozialstipendien

Für die finanzielle Unterstützung von Studierenden, die sich ein Studium andernfalls nicht leisten könnten.

mehr erfahren

Reha-Initiative

Für eine Welt, in der es keine Rolle spielt, ob man eine Beeinträchtigung hat oder nicht.

mehr erfahren

Zurich Heart

Für die Entwicklung eines zuverlässig funktionierenden Kunstherzens.

mehr erfahren

Die Stories zu den SujetsZwei Puzzleteile der Kuppel

Erfahren Sie im Slider mehr über die Geschichten rund um die Initiativen und Projekte, die sich hinter den Kampagnensujets verbergen.

 


Fragen und Antworten


 

Warum lanciert die ETH Foundation diese Kampagne?

Die ETH Zürich darf sich grosser Bekanntheit erfreuen. Wenig bekannt ist hingegen, dass man die ETH auch philanthropisch unterstützen kann. Da zusätzliche Mittel eine immer grössere Rolle spielen, um Forschung und Lehre auf Spitzenniveau zu betreiben und noch mehr zu leisten, als im Rahmen der Grundfinanzierung möglich ist, möchten wir mit dieser Kampagne die Fördermöglichkeiten ins Bewusstsein rücken. Der Gedanke, dass man mit einer Donation Teil von Innovationen wird, die der ganzen Gesellschaft nützen, kommt im Puzzle-Motiv symbolisch zum Ausdruck. Ob Kleinspende oder Nachlass – jeder Beitrag ist wertvoll und in der Summe entsteht Grosses.

An wen richtet sich die Kampagne?

Wir möchten Menschen ansprechen, die sich der ETH verbunden fühlen, denen die Nachwuchsförderung oder ein ganz spezifisches Forschungsthema am Herzen liegt, oder die ganz einfach unsere Überzeugung teilen, dass Bildung und Forschung der Schlüssel zur Lösung vieler Herausforderungen unserer Zeit sind. Sie alle sind herzlich eingeladen, Puzzleteile beizutragen und gemeinsam mit der ETH Zukunft zu gestalten.

Wie und wofür kann ich konkret spenden?

Zum einen suchen wir Mittel für Talent- und Stipendienprogramme, um besonders begabte und finanziell benachteiligte Studierende sowie angehende Jungunternehmer gezielt zu unterstützen. Zum anderen wollen wir strategisch wichtige Forschungsbereiche – von der Gesundheit über Energie bis zur künstlichen Intelligenz – mit zusätzlichen Mitteln stärken und ausbauen.

Sehr wichtig sind auch die zweck-ungebundenen Spenden an unseren «Polyfonds». Damit schenken Sie der ETH-Schulleitung grösstmögliche Flexibilität, die Mittel dort einzusetzen, wo sie am dringendsten benötigt werden.

Unter https://www.ethz-foundation.ch/engagement/ finden Sie eine Übersicht der aktuellen Förderprojekte. Gerne beraten wir Sie auch individuell, wenn Sie einen ganz speziellen Förderwunsch haben.

Kann ich meine Spende von der Steuer abziehen?

Ja, Donationen an die ETH Zürich Foundation können im Rahmen der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen von der Steuer abgezogen werden. Gerne stellen wir Ihnen eine Spendenbescheinigung aus. Auch Spenden aus Deutschland und in den USA sind über die jeweilige Stiftung steuerbefreit. Nähere Informationen: https://www.ethz-foundation.ch/bankangaben/

Wie viel von meiner Spende fliesst tatsächlich in die Projekte?

Die gespendeten Beiträge fliessen zu 100% dem gewählten Spendenzweck zu. Der Stiftungsrat der ETH Foundation agiert ehrenamtlich und die Aufwände der Geschäftsstelle werden aus den Kapitalerträgen des verwalteten Vermögens finanziert.

Warum sammelt die ETH überhaupt Spenden – sie wird doch vom Bund finanziert?

Donationen geben der ETH den Spielraum, um in strategisch wichtigen Gebieten schnell handeln zu können und umfassende Vorhaben zu realisieren, die im Rahmen der Grundfinanzierung so nicht möglich wären. Auch Talentförderprogramme – wie das Exzellenz-Stipendienprogramm und Pioneer Fellowship Programm – sind massgeblich durch Donationen finanziert und unterstützen die ETH dabei, die besten Köpfe anzuziehen und zu fördern. All dies trägt entscheidend dazu bei, dass die ETH ihre Position als eine der weltweit führenden Hochschulen behaupten kann.

Was habe ich persönlich davon, wenn ich die ETH unterstütze?

Spenden sind Schenkungen und beinhalten somit keine direkte Gegenleistung. Nebst Dank und Wertschätzung dürfen Sie sich jedoch an der Gewissheit freuen, mit Ihrer Spende etwas Sinnvolles für die Zukunft zu bewirken. Zudem erscheint Ihr Name im Jahresbericht und auf unserer Website. Treue Gönnerinnen und Gönner werden auch zu gelegentlichen Anlässen eingeladen und können so die Wirkung ihres Engagements persönlich erleben.

Gibt es auch ein «richtiges» Puzzle?

Ja, es gibt ein 1000-teiliges Puzzle mit dem Motiv des ETH-Hauptgebäudes, das Sie in den Filialen des ETH-Store oder Online erwerben können. Eine doppelt gute Sache, denn CHF 5 vom Verkaufspreis fliessen in die Förderung von Lehre und Forschung an der ETH Zürich.

Wir kontaktieren Sie gerne.

Haben Sie Fragen zu Schenkungen und Legaten oder zu weiteren Themen rund um die ETH Foundation?
Wir freuen uns, Kontakt mit Ihnen aufzunehmen.

Kontakt
x